Voltage Talk Forum Home Page Voltage Talk Forum Home Page    National Low Voltage Contractors Association Home Page
Go Back   VoltageTalk.com > Specialties > Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems
Search Voltage Talk          
 
Forgot Login Information    Problem Logging In?

“CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!”

Register Here Search Recent Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-16-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
MMiddleton MMiddleton is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Rep Power: 0
MMiddleton is on a distinguished road
Default Is DSL the same as dial up?

Is DSL the same as dial up? Is it correct that DSL internet service runs through existing phone lines? Will I be able to use my phone when I'm on the internet? If I can use both the phone and internet at the same time, will it effect the quality of my phone calls or the speed of my internet?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
Sparky49's Avatar
Sparky49 Sparky49 is offline
Chief Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 431
Rep Power: 11
Sparky49 has a spectacular aura aboutSparky49 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMiddleton View Post
Is DSL the same as dial up? Is it correct that DSL internet service runs through existing phone lines? Will I be able to use my phone when I'm on the internet? If I can use both the phone and internet at the same time, will it effect the quality of my phone calls or the speed of my internet?
It's not the same as dial-up. Even though it uses your existing phone line, it doesn't affect voice calls and internet use and phone calls can done simultaneously without affecting either.

If you have a security system, the DSL may affect transmission of alarm signals to your cental station. A DSL filter can be installed at the alarm panel to fix that problem.
__________________


Gary Hutcheson
Systems Engineer

City-Wide Electronic Systems, Inc.
440 Highland Avenue
El Cajon, CA 92020
Office: (619) 444-0219 x117
Fax: (619) 444-9130
Website: cwesi.com
Email: ghutcheson(at)cwesi(dot)com


California State Licensed Fire & Life Safety Electrician
NICET III Certified

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
ProIT's Avatar
ProIT ProIT is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 104
Rep Power: 10
ProIT has a spectacular aura aboutProIT has a spectacular aura about
Default

Internet speed will be reduced while you're using the phone. The voice side will take 56k away from the circuit while you're using the phone & return the data speed back one you hang up. This is why it's best to put your DSL on your fax line or second line if you have one.
__________________


JR Garrett
V.P. of Operations

Professional IT Services & Solutions, Inc.
11631-1 Columbia Park Dr. E.
Jacksonville, FL 32258

Office: 904.742.8797
Fax: 904.880.6922
Website: www.ProITss.com
I am a State certified low voltage contractor that works mainly in commercial building applications. We professionally service & install voice / data, fire / security alarm systems, fiber optics & CCTV systems.

FL - EF20000774
GA - LVU405993
NC - 28055-SP-LV

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
Chris J
(Please Register It's FREE!)
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This is good info for us morons who have no clue how this crap works. Can one of you stop my VCR from blinking 12:00AM?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
GregS GregS is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 41
Rep Power: 0
GregS is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProIT View Post
Internet speed will be reduced while you're using the phone. The voice side will take 56k away from the circuit while you're using the phone & return the data speed back one you hang up.
Do you have a reference for that? My understanding is DSL using a different frequency range from voice calls on the same line which allows them to happen at the same time.
__________________
CEDIA Certified CPI I
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
ProIT's Avatar
ProIT ProIT is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 104
Rep Power: 10
ProIT has a spectacular aura aboutProIT has a spectacular aura about
Default

I'll see if I can't find the reference to it. I worked for BellSouth for years & what I should have said is that it will "take up to 56k from the DSL side". Voice communications take up to 56k for just a regular line whether the entire amount is used or not.

The line will only handle so much bandwidth as provisioned by the carrier & when you use the DSL line for voice communications, it has to get the infomation to the other side somehow & it does it by temporarily borrowing bandwidth & returning it when the voice call has ended.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-22-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
ProIT's Avatar
ProIT ProIT is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 104
Rep Power: 10
ProIT has a spectacular aura aboutProIT has a spectacular aura about
Default

Here's what I was able to find so far. I'll look for more info if you want more.

Being that a frame takes up part of the bandwidth, it reduces the available bandwidth to the DSL data side.

A Digital-Subscriber Line (DSL) modem dynamically allocates its bandwidth to voice calls or data traffic as needed. Low-level frames are divided into several 64-Kbit/sec timeslots, each able to carry one voice call. These low-level frames are repeated several times in a 1-KHz frame that is synchronized to network timing references such as an 8-KHz clock used by the telephone network's pulse-code-modulated (PCM) highway. The 1-KHz frames are grouped into superframes. The low-level timeslots are allocated to either voice channels or to unchannelized data, depending on the number of voice calls currently being made. Allocations are made once for each superframe. The allocations or assignment of each of the timeslots to either voice or data is determined and sent to the remote modem or line card before the next superframe begins. When a good CRC occurs, the allocation sent is used to format the next superframe. Allocation bits for each of the timeslots indicate that the timeslot is for voice or for data. Different line and data rates result in different numbers of the 64-Kbit timeslots. Formats of the 8-KHz frames and superframes are fixed. The superframes contain framing bits that carry the next superframe's allocation to the remote modem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-22-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
TouchToneTommy TouchToneTommy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Rep Power: 0
TouchToneTommy is on a distinguished road
Default

That would be true if the voice portion was being converted to digital and sent THROUGH the DSL modem, but in a "normal" DSL installation, the data signal "rides" over the voice. The splitter/filters keep the DSL portion from interfering with the voice portion, the data is unaffected by the voice traffic.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-23-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
GregS GregS is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 41
Rep Power: 0
GregS is on a distinguished road
Default

So a different frequency range...
__________________
CEDIA Certified CPI I
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-23-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
ProIT's Avatar
ProIT ProIT is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 104
Rep Power: 10
ProIT has a spectacular aura aboutProIT has a spectacular aura about
Default

I beg to differ... voice does affect the DSL data side, you can test it by testing the voltage. It is negligent but it does reduce the bandwidth.

The filters are used to keep the noise out of the voice side because it uses a higher frequency. If you had a T1 line, you have 24 channels that can be segmented however you want. In the case of a T1, data & voice are separate & don't affect each other but with a DSL they ride together albeit at different frequencies but they do affect the bandwidth.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-23-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
mark mark is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Rep Power: 0
mark is on a distinguished road
Default

Alot depends on what technology your telco uses and how they provision the loop.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-23-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
TouchToneTommy TouchToneTommy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Rep Power: 0
TouchToneTommy is on a distinguished road
Default

What does voltage have to do with bandwidth?

If you are using VODSL (Voice Over DSL) where the DSL terminates in an IAD (Integraged Access Device) like a Net Engine or Adtran Total Access, where the dial tone is generated by the device, then absolutly yes, voice usage chips away at the data bandwidth.

Just did a simple test - typical Internet speed test, with phone idle and phone off hook on the 1002 cycle milliwatt test tone - exactly the same results.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-24-2008 - Is DSL the same as dial up? - Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) Systems - Voltage Talk forum
kbsparky's Avatar
kbsparky kbsparky is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0
kbsparky is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris J View Post
.... Can one of you stop my VCR from blinking 12:00AM?
Put a piece of black tape over it ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


The time now is 04:40 AM.